The Greatest Christmas Playlist of All Time (Scientifically Proven)

Time to take off my grumpy pants and turn my frown upside down. (Memo to self: remember to put some other pants on.)  I’ve had my requisite three weeks of Christmas cynicism, but one week out from the day, I’m ready to get smiley. After all, it’s for the children! So without further ado, I now present to you the undisputed greatest Christmas iPod playlist of all time:

To get in the right frame of mind, you must become like a child:how-the-grinch-stole-christmas-6

The Chipmunk Song by The Chipmunks

All I Want for Christmas by The Chipmunks

You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch by Thurl Ravenscroft. Our family watches this cartoon every Christmas day. I have zero interest in watching Jim Carey’s version.

This next section mostly has vocalists of the WWII generation:

sinatra ChristmasA Holly Jolly Christmas by Burl Ives
The Christmas Song by Nat King Cole. “Chestnuts roasting on an open fire, Jack Frost nipping at your nose.”  This was playing as my wife and I skated on a pond while snow lightly fell – a few minutes when life could not have been any better.  We play this song during our Christmas dinner.
It Came Upon a Midnight Clear by Frank Sinatra
Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas by the Carpenters.  Or, for a very different rendition of the song that will make you cry, try Judy Garland’s version.

Let it Snow! Let it Snow! Let it Snow! by Frank Sinatra
Do You Hear What I Hear? by Bing Crosby
It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year by Andy Williams
White Christmas by Bing Crosby

Now close your eyes and reach into the grab bag:

Sleigh Ride by The Ronettes
Santa Claus is Comin’ To Town  by Bruce Springsteen. “Hey Clarence, you been rehearsing real hard now so Santa will bring you a springsteen christmasnew saxophone?”
Christmas Wrapping by The Waitresses.
The Chanukah Song by Adam Sandler. “So much Funukah to celebrate Chanukah!” and “O.J. Simpson: not a Jew!”
Merry Christmas Baby by B.B. King.  You knew there was going to be at least one blues song, right?
Christmastime Is Here by The Vince Guaraldi Trio. Otherwise known as the Charlie Brown Christmas song.
Santa Claus Is Coming To Town by The Jackson 5.  That’s right – two versions of the same song.

18 Comments

Filed under Doodling in the margins

18 responses to “The Greatest Christmas Playlist of All Time (Scientifically Proven)

  1. Aimee Byrd

    Good list–I tolly have The Chanukah song on my playlist too 🙂 Yes, on Bruce Springsteen as well. Me, my brother and sister used to perform that one for the parents every year lip synching, of course. And, even the chipmunks. I don’t know if you all are haters of country music over here but I have two more that I have to hear every year for it to be Christmas. One old, one new:
    John Denver: Please Daddy Don’t Get Drunk this Christmas (my parents had the eight track and I have to play that whole album every year).

    Brad Paisley: Kung Pao Buckaroo Holiday

    • I’ve never much connected to country music. Willie McTell did some blues with a country flavor in there somewhere. I’ve enjoyed some bluegrass at times. I got Patsy Cline’s greatest hits from the library once and surprisingly enjoyed it. There’s a Beatlesque simplicity to her songs, if that makes any sense. If you can articulate why you like country, I’m all ears.

  2. Richard

    JOHN DENVER is COUNTRY? Please! I don’t even like country, but I know enough country aficionados that they would slit their throats before they admitted to liking Denver.

  3. Aimee Byrd

    Sheesh, give me a break. I was mainly talking about Paisley, but Denver can also be considered pop-country genre. I’m not a big Denver fan, but his Christmas album is nostalgic for me, what can I say? However, if I were to articulate why I like country, I wouldn’t use pop-country or neo-country as my defense. Three words: banjo, fiddle, and harmonica.
    The history of country/hillbilly music has a lot of blues intertwined in it. Country music tells a story. I like many kinds of music, and I think there are definitely worthy country songs out there…along with some of the best guitar players–Chet Atkins (my grandaddy got a chance to play with him) and Chuck Berry were pretty dern.
    Patsy Cline’s “Crazy” is one of my all time favorite songs. Emmylou Harris is equally awesome. And so many folk/jazz/rock/blues artists have dabbled in in country music, where now there are many flavors.

  4. Zrim

    The only time I tolerate country music is when there are peanut shells under my feet, a piece of red meat in front of me, and a girl named Megan in a black tee shirt bringing me another beer. Even then, just barely.

  5. Richard

    I can remember singing John Denver songs along with thousands of other foreigners in one of the beer tents at Munich’s Oktoberfest several years ago. It helps to have a beer stein in your hand and to be slightly sloshed. The Germans actually think Denver is country as well, God help them.

  6. Aimee Byrd

    You guys are brutal. But how cute to think of Zrim in a modern day honkey tonk. Although it would be more convincing if Megan was a Gretchen.
    And Richard, I live in WV, where the best second grade teacher in town teaches her children how to sign the whole song “Country Roads”. It’s like a clip straight out of Napoleon Dynamite the last 15 minutes of every Friday afternoon…pure gold.

    • Aimee, people like Richard and Zrim come here, scatter their beer cans around the blog, belch, and leave the place in a mess. I can’t be held responsible for their behavior.

  7. Richard

    Burp! I didn’t want to mention “Country Roads.” My recurring blurry memory of Oktoberfest was of the German oompah band playing it ad naseum while we all sang the blasted “song” over and over again. German culture hit a low point then. And the Germans also think David Hasselhof (“the Hof”) is a great singer as well.

  8. Zrim

    Aimee, I married into honkey tonk. Sure, it’s the teetotaling sort, but please, a little respect.

    MM, um, I drink from bottles, not cans.

    • Zrim, I’ve seen you take insults from many quarters (wait, can it only be 4 quarters?) without visible irritation, but you just had to make sure you put down the idea that you might drink from a can.

  9. Zrim

    And, Aimee, some say love, it is a hunger, an endless aching need. But I say love, it is a flower and you its only seed.

  10. Aimee Byrd

    Egads, The Rose? Now you’ve left a mess with the peanut shells too. And teetotaling honkey tonkers? Is there such a thing?

    Maybe the German’s got their taste of Hasselhof from his cameo in the Spongebob movie. That was pretty impressive how he launched SB and Patrick home with his pect. muscles.

    You guys are too much…

  11. Zrim

    Aimee, you made the Dynamite reference, I was just playing along. And I guess I get honkey tonkers and mere red necks mixed up–is that classcist? But whatever these people I love are, they sure are dry.

  12. Zrim

    M&M, I have to draw the line somewhere and cans is it.

  13. Zrim

    Aimee, providentially I did once tote a couple of nieces to a local PCA that used wine for communion.

Leave a Reply

