Police Chase Presbyterian Cyclist – News at 10:00

My stepmother claims there are genes from my father’s side that program all males in the family to have run-ins with the police and airport security. Of course, that kind of statement doesn’t fit into my worldview so I dismissed it out of hand.  A confrontation like that seemed especially remote as I donned my helmet and clipped in to begin the High Trestle Trail route in central Iowa this weekend.

Instead, what was on my mind was Plan B, since Plan A was meeting a friend whom I just couldn’t find. Plan A would have made the fifty mile trip an all-day adventure; Plan B was to take minimal stops and be done within three hours.  I had to stop once thanks to my prior two cups of coffee, but I was head-down making good time when I approached an intersection manned by two policemen.  That was no surprise, since it was a special day for the High Trestle Trail and, like the previous year, police were stationed at a few of the intersections along the way for the benefit of the bikers.

One of the officers looked at me, said something, and made some kind of motion. Ever mindful of my duty to the magistrate, I came to a stop and asked what he was saying. Said he: “Make sure you stop at the sign.” Said sign was thirty feet ahead. Well, thought I, one should stop a biker neither for casual conversation nor to tell him he needs to stop in another thirty feet. Clearly the officer was not really understanding what his role was on the trail that morning.  You have the context now, right? Now here come the only words I said at that intersection:

You don’t stop a biker to tell him he has to stop!

After that I hop-pedalled to the intersection with the stop sign, stopped, then went on my way with a little more vigor to make up for the interruption.  I began to put that interruption behind me both geographically and mentally when I heard a four-wheel vehicle of some kind come up off the trail to my left.  I casually glanced at the vehicle and wondered why it was going so fast. Well, you know what happened next: the officer pointed at me and pointed to the side of the trail, telling me to pull over. For a microsecond I wondered what a chase might be like, since I think I can outpedal golf carts, but both the reality that it was not a golf cart and recognition of my duty to the magistrate compelled me to stop.

Well, then, words were said. The officers said things like “disorderly conduct” and “Let’s go over in the shade and write up your ticket.” I said a few things myself, like “Did I call you a name? Did I insult you? Did I go through the stop sign? Did my words start a riot back there at the intersection? Please, let’s go to court and tell our stories!” But eventually we talked through the matter, left on good terms, and I went on my way again without being weighed down by a ticket.

You asked whether I still finished the trip on time? My official time on Map My Ride was 2:58:01.

5 Comments

Filed under Doodling in the margins

5 responses to “Police Chase Presbyterian Cyclist – News at 10:00

  1. My posts are not posting

  2. Now it did. I lost two posts and I do not know where they went. Anyways, I hope I can remember the gist of what I said. You stated this Eminem: “My stepmother claims there are genes from my father’s side that program all males in the family to have run-ins with the police and airport security. Of course, that kind of statement doesn’t fit into my worldview so I dismissed it out of hand.”

    I have always wondered what the Reformed of your persuasion have thought about Moses and his killing of the Egyptian guard, David and his accomplice to the murder of Bathseba’s husband and adultery with her and Paul and his residing over the stoning of Stephan. I could come up with other examples but that will suffice. Why were they not put to death for their disobedience to Israel civil law? I would like to know how your keen lawyer mind would deal with each of those Old Testament examples and the example of Paul in the New. I think I know how one should go about answering that but I want to know your thoughts first.

    I have also started a blog of my own and am asking you to be the first to make some kind of half-baked remark on it. I promise I will not delete the post like you have done with a couple of my mine. The link to my site can be found by clicking my name. I think that might be why my previous posts did not post. I wrote my address in the comment.

    • John, good to hear from you again. I’ll run over to your blog just as soon as I get a post done, hopefully tonight.

      I hope you know the “my worldview” bit was tongue-in-cheek.

      Now, as to the “Reformed of my persuasion” maybe you could tell me who else is in my persuasion. As for your examples, Moses got away with murder. David had the right as king to put Bathsheba’s husband into battle but commited murder in the moral realm, which is to say, before God’s eyes. Paul murdered, and I think he murdered both morally and civilly because, although Rome allowed the Jews to settle some matters on their own I don’t think it formally allowed the Jews to, in effect, have a death penalty. By providence none of these were civilly prosecuted for their acts. But where are you going with this?

      • I know you were being tongue-in-cheek. As to “Reformed of your persuasion” I was referring to OPCers. I just read a 28 page essay by T. David Gordon on the book of Galatians who critiques John Murray’s monocovenantalism. I was hoping you would go the covenant of Moses and covenant of Abraham route with your answers to the dilemma’s I referred to. Gordon was miffed with Murray’s inability to see to stark contrasts between the two covenants which explains how God could providentially atone for and forgive the blatant sins of Moses, David and Paul. You also made no reference to Moses commiting his murder before the giving of the Law to Israel and Paul commiting his after the civil law of Israel was abolished by Christ’s fulfilling of the Law. That is where I was going with it. As a lawyer, you might enjoy reading that Gordon article but I don’t think your comment section will allow me to link it. Plus I am afraid I will lose my comment. If you want to read it I will send it to you by another route of your choosing.

  3. Pingback: Presbyterian Biker Update | Presbyterian Blues

Leave a Reply

